Education Administrator
Judy Nadjiwan

Post Secondary Coordinator
Jennifer Linklater

Secondary Student Services Coordinator
Connie Salkey

Administrative Support
Vanessa M. Keeshig

Kikendaasogamig Elementary School Principal
Bill Tichenoff – Principal

Education Custodian
Shane Nadjiwon

Bus Contractor
Carolynn Wright
- Elementary Routes 1 & 2
– Secondary routes 3 & 4

Mailing Address
Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Board of Education
6 Harbour Road
Neyaashiinigmiing, ON
N0H 2T0

Tel: 519-534-0882
Fax: 519-534-5138

Regular Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

The Board of Education is operating on reduced office hours During the COVID-19 pandemic:

Monday to Thursday:        10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Friday:                             12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Staff will be on-site at 6 Harbour Road from 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM daily.

Miigwetch for visiting the Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Board of Education website. This page has been designed to give its viewers some general information regarding the Education Department and its programs. If you require further information please contact our office.

Mission Statement:

Our mission is to foster a nurturing and supportive learning environment that inspires dedication to lifelong learning, Anishinaabemowin and the values of mino bimaadiziwin.

Vision Statement:

Building Anishinabek Success…Voices For Today and Tomorrow.

Medicine Wheel (Right color directions)

Values: 7 Grandfather Teachings

  1. Giiyaakwaadziwin – Honesty.
  2. Dbaandendizwin – Humility.
  3. Mshkode’ewin – Bravery.
  4. Nbwaakaawin – Wisdom.
  5. Minwaadendamowin – Respect.
  6. Debwewin – Truth.
  7. Zaagidwin – Love.
Overview: The Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Board of Education (CNUFNBOE) was formed in December 1993 when Chief and Council transferred educational governance and administration of education programs and services to an elected board of Trustees. The original decision was ratified by a council resolution and is periodically confirmed by a Terms of Reference between council and the board. CNUFNBOE programs and services include:
  1. Elementary (Kikendaasogamig Elementary School)
  2. Secondary (Secondary Student Support Services)
  3. Post Secondary (Nawash Post Secondary Assistance Program)
  4. Day Care (Nshiime Day Care Centre)
  5. Adult Learning Centre
  6. Nawash Education Diversity Assistance Program
  7. Education, Language and Culture

Board of Education – Elected Board of Trustees for the 2017 - 2019 Term:

Councillor Liaison: Arlene Chegahno
Alternate Councillor Liaison: Solomon King

Chairperson: Carlene Keeshig
Trustees: Anthony Pedoniquotte
Amy Nadjiwon-Tobey
Marleen Vogl
Chanice Johnston
Portfolios Trustees
1. Nshiime Day Care Chanice Johnston & Amy Nadjiwon-Tobey
2. Adult Learning Centre Carlene Keeshig, Marleen Vogl & Amy Nadjiwon-Tobey
3. Elementary Student Services Marleen Vogl & Anthony Pedoniquotte
4. Secondary Student Services Amy Nadjiwon-Tobey & Marleen Vogl
5. Post Secondary Services Anthony Pedoniquotte & Carlene Keeshig
6. Leadership & Administration Chairperson & Entire Board

Portfolio’s 1-5 incorporate: Culture, Language & Arts; Curriculum & Program Development; Student & Staff Success; Community Engagement; Policy Review & Development.

Board of Education Meetings:

Board meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday’s of each month from 9:00am – 12:00pm. Special board meetings are scheduled as needed.

Band member requests are encouraged. For efficiency, please submit all requests in writing.

Upcoming Events:

No events scheduled at this time.